Art

Cubicles of the winter pool

  • Originally, the cubicles that line the winter pool afforded swimmers the necessary privacy to undress; swapping a city suit for a bathing suit. The cubicle was the place where swimmers disrobed before diving into the big pool.’

    But then the City of Paris closed the doors of the Molitor Pool. The place has become a spot known and recognised by graffiti artists for its extraordinary character; painting in the open air in the empty 46- and 33-metre-long pools; and so many nooks and crannies to set up shop. For nearly 20 years, Molitor was a huge open-air studio for spray paint artists.

  • These days it is no longer swimmers who reveal themselves in the cubicles, but artists. Every one of the 78 cubicles surrounding the winter pool has been taken over by an artist, from floor to ceiling, in order to produce a huge gallery of contemporary urban art.

    In cubicle No. 166 discover the joyful universe of street art characters called Gouzous, by Jace, and the malicious presence of cartoon cat, Monsieur Chat in cubicle No. 188. Interact with Collectif 9ième concept’s art stickers Francs Colleurs; snap one of the walls of Marko93’s cubicle No. 114 to reveal what lies hidden there; let yourself be carried away by the poetry of Mademoiselle Maurice‘s origami at No. 40. So many artists and experiences to discover, so little time...

To visit the cubicles click here.



Réservation

Art

Les cabines du bassin d'hiver

  • À l’origine les cabines qui bordent le bassin d’hiver permettaient aux nageurs d’avoir l’intimité nécessaire pour se dévêtir, troquer l’habit de ville pour le costume de bain. La cabine était le lieu d’où les nageurs se dévoilaient avant de plonger dans le grand bassin.

    Et puis la Ville de Paris a fermé les portes de la Piscine Molitor. Le lieu est devenu un spot connu et reconnu par les graffeurs pour son caractère hors du commun : peindre à ciel ouvert dans des piscines vides de 46 et 33 mètres de long et autant de coins et recoins à investir. Pendant près de 20 ans, Molitor représentait un immense atelier à ciel ouvert pour les amoureux du spray.

  • Aujourd’hui ce ne sont plus des nageurs qui se dévoilent dans les cabines mais des artistes. Chacune des 78 cabines qui entourent le bassin d’hiver a été investie par un artiste, du sol au plafond, pour composer une immense galerie d’art contemporain urbain.

    Découvrez dans la cabine n° 166 l’univers joyeux des Gouzous de Jace et l’air malicieux de Monsieur Chat dans la cabine n° 188, interagissez avec les Francs Colleurs du collectif 9ième concept, flashez l’un des murs de la cabine n° 114 de Marko93 pour révéler ce qui s’y cache, laissez-vous porté(e) par la poésie des origamis de Mademoiselle Maurice au n° 40, autant d’expériences à vivre et d’artistes à découvrir.

Pour visiter les cabines d’artistes du bassin d’hiver, cliquez ici



Réservation