< Back to artists


  • Born in 1973 in the north of France. He first studied applied art and cut his teeth as a graphic designer in an advertising agency. There he was able to freely express his creativity and quickly built up a passion for typography and compositional techniques.

    Although his favourite subject still remains the portrait, he discovered his raw material and inspirations in the streets of Paris. He started by filling his sketch book with drawings of the people he met. He then likes to stick these portraits to walls as a testimony to these people he has met.

    Balder's work draws its inspiration from these scenes of daily street-life which he likes to observe, always hoping to discover a face, an expression or a character. He confronts strangers asking them for their participation, getting to know about their lives, passions, etc.

    In his portraits he tries to discover what makes up the identity of someone living in a big city where so many different cultures combine together and then transforms them using colour, text, traces of consumer products or found objects.

    Balder's work is more than just a study of the individual; it is an eye-witness account of the people who live in today's big cities.

    See web page

Art

< Retour aux artistes Artiste suivant >

Balder

  • Né en 1973 dans le nord de la France. Il fait des études d’arts appliqués et forge ses premières armes dans le graphisme en travaillant en agence de publicité. Il peut y exprimer toute sa créativité et se passionne rapidement pour la typographie et les jeux de la composition.

    Toutefois, son sujet favori est le portrait. Et c’est dans les rues de Paris qu’il y trouve sa matière première, ses inspirations. Il commence alors à remplir ses carnets de croquis au gré des gens qu’il rencontre. Il aime ensuite coller des portraits sur les murs pour laisser un témoignage des personnages rencontrés.

    Le travail de Balder prend sa source dans les scènes quotidiennes de la rue qu’il prend plaisir à observer pour découvrir un visage, une expression, un personnage. Il va à la rencontre des personnes pour solliciter leur participation, connaître leur vie, leurs passions etc...

    Il recherche dans ses portraits ce qui fait l'identité d’un individu évoluant dans une grande ville où tant de cultures se mélangent et la traduit à travers les couleurs, les jeux de lettres, les emprunts aux produits de consommation ou les matières trouvées.

    Plus qu’une recherche sur l’individu, le travail de Balder est un témoignage des hommes qui vivent dans nos villes d’aujourd’hui.

    Voir sa page web

Réservation