Molitor

History

  • Molitor first opened in 1929, for 60 years it was Paris' most popular swimming baths, known for its two swimming pools and its avant-garde atmosphere.

    It closed in 1989 and was classed as a listed historic building, then it was used by artists who transformed the abandoned building into a Mecca for the Parisian underground.

    MOLITOR has always been an audacious and constantly evolving location for those who want to experience the unusual. This is what has created the soul of MOLITOR and built up a legacy which calls out to be shared with the world.

MOLITOR’S LIVES
History and testimonies

  • Chapter 1: 1929-1989

    Once upon a time in the West end of Paris, a most unusual building came into being. A simple concrete triangle surrounding a place where Parisians could come to swim and bathe all year round, or ice-skate, play golf, do sporting activities, sunbathe or just socialise.

    The "piscine Molitor Grands Etablissements Balnéaires d’Auteuil" first opened its doors in 1929, completing an immense sporting complex in the 16th arrondissement alongside the Parc des Princes, Jean Bouin Stadium and Roland Garros. To solidify the sporting context of the Molitor Swimming pools, the five times Olympic medallist Johnny Weissmuller was invited to the opening and worked there as life-guard during the summer of 1929.

    But Molitor quickly released itself from its principal intended use, gradually transforming itself into a place for socialising and events: the artists' gala was held at Molitor in 1932, from 1934 it was the annual venue of the "Fête de l'Eau" and its bathing beauty contest, not forgetting the restaurants, bar-tobacconist and hairdressing salon which surrounded this otherworldly swimming pool.

    The winter pool is a faithful reproduction of the original pool designed by the Molitor's architect Lucien Pollet. He had his offices just to the right of the original entrance to the winter pool; today this is the entrance to the Villa Molitor.

  • “ That was certainly the best time of my life. The ambience was wonderful, we worked from 7am to 7pm, we were four boys and we got on fantastically well together and what's more we earned a pretty good living which was no small thing. We were not salaried, but we collected the money for the cabin rentals and tips, that went into a pot that we shared that out amongst ourselves. There were a lot of regulars who would come early in the morning to reserve their cabins (always the same one). The tool of our trade was the key that opened the cabins; I kept mine as a souvenir. We were so used to working there that by just knocking on the cabin door, "tap-tap", we could immediately tell if it was empty and free for use or if there were clothes inside. ”
    The memories of Dominic Thomas, cabin boy at Molitor, taken from "MOLITOR The swimming pools and skating rink" by Claude Weill.

    The decline of the Molitor swimming pools started in the 1970s with the closing of the skating rink which had replaced the winter pool. It had taken a month and a half to install this new attraction for the Parisians but it only operated for five months. The financial loss was enormous.

    Then the water filtration system started to break-down, chlorine had been steadily eroding the concrete since 1929 and the glass roof of the winter pool needed renovation... Jean-Paul Philippon's architect's report told a sorry story. The works required to restore the swimming pool would oblige the Management of the Molitor swimming pools to extend the leasehold and a re-negotiate operating rights. The Paris City Council refused. Then in 1989, on the leasehold's official termination date, the management returned the keys of the Molitor to the City Council who closed down the establishment for the foreseeable future.

  • Chapter 2: 1989-2014

    Whilst the Molitor swimming baths had closed its doors, they would soon be re-opened clandestinely... an abandoned building in Paris never stays abandoned for long.

    At first graffiti started to appear on the outside walls of the Molitor, then on the railings, inside the drained swimming pools and after about a decade new colours were now decorating and bringing life to the abandoned building. These were the first graffiti works by street artists who have since become very well known to the general public, the site became an immense open-air artist's studio. Numerous photographers immortalised these ephemeral works by Reso, Shaka, Katre, Kashink, Jace, Nosbé... there were too many to list them all here.

    The site also became a venue for concerts, parties, fashion shows organised through the "Compagnie des Maîtres-Nageurs".

  • But the Paris City Council had not completely forgotten Molitor. In 2007 a tender process was announced for the restoration and operation of the building, which by then had been abandoned for almost 20 years. This was awarded to Colony Capital, associated with Bouygues Construction and Accorhotels, and their project proposal promising to faithfully restore the building's original architecture and preserve its historic nature.

    Works began in 2011, the whole of the swimming pool had to be demolished, its foundations and concrete were in no condition to stand much longer. Only the Rotonde and the entrance at 2 Avenue de la Porte de Molitor could be saved.

    The Molitor swimming pools were rebuilt as faithfully as possible; many swimmers who had known them in their heyday easily recognised the forms of the balustrades, the mosaics and the colours. The daughter of the original architect, Lucien Pollet, who had lived in Molitor, emotionally observed that almost nothing about the winter pool had changed compared to what she had known: a true testimonial to the quality of the work of the project's architects, historians and craftsmen.

  • Chapter 3: 2014 to today

    Molitor re-opened its doors on 19 May 2014.

    The Paris City Council awarded operating rights for the building to Colony Capita and the AccorHotels Group for duration of 54 years.

    Molitor is now much more than just a swimming pool.

    It is a hotel with 124 rooms and suites, all designed by the architect Jean-Philippe Nuel as genuine cocoons of peace and calm, he also managed the redecoration of the Hôtel Dieu in Marseille, the Hôtel Mélia at La Defense (Paris) and the Cures Marines in Trouville. The rooms that surround the summer pool give guests the impression that Molitor is a huge cruise-ship.

    It is also a restaurant open to everyone, proposing seasonal dishes made with fresh produce by the resident Chef, Julien Mercier, and his crew. And Florian Eude's pastry creations are a pleasure for both eyes and taste-buds.

  • There is also the 1,700m² Spa by Clarins which in addition to the private treatment rooms where their beauticians take you "Beyond Water" with their Signature Beauty Care, has its own hammam, sauna, tea-room and reading room. The Molitor Club also proposes group sessions and year-round cultural events in addition to its many sporting facilities.

    And finally, visitors can discover the Street Artwork which was such an integral part of Molitor's history, presented in the cabins of curiosity, on the walls of the hotel lobby or hidden in obscure corridor corners. The artists that knew Molitor during its abandoned period have been invited to return and leave their mark on the new buildings as an echo of the graffiti which covered its walls at the time.

    When you enter one of the cabins surrounding the winter pool you are plunged into the world of Hopare, Katre, Jace, Artiste Ouvrier, Mademoiselle Maurice, Kouka, Bradley Theodore, Mosko & Associés, Balder, Indie 184, Fred Calmets, Shuck One amongst many others.

    Molitor's history continues to be written each day...

Réservation

Molitor

Histoire

  • Inauguré en 1929, Molitor a été pendant 60 ans la piscine la plus courue de Paris pour ses deux bassins et son ambiance avant-gardiste.

    Fermé en 1989 et classé aux monuments historiques, le lieu est investi par les artistes et le bâtiment délabré devient le temple de l'underground parisien.

    Évolutif et audacieux, Molitor a accueilli ceux qui voulaient partager des moments hors du commun. Tous, ils ont fait l'âme de Molitor et construit un héritage qui ne demande qu'à être transmis.

LES VIES DE MOLITOR
Histoire et témoignages

  • 1er Chapitre : 1929-1989

    Il était une fois dans l'ouest parisien la naissance d'un bâtiment hors du commun. Un simple triangle de béton qui entourait un lieu où les parisiens pouvaient se baigner toute l'année, patiner, jouer au golf, faire du sport, bronzer et se retrouver.

    C'est en 1929 que “ La piscine Molitor Grands Etablissements Balnéaires d'Auteuil ” ouvrit ses portes pour compléter l'immense centre sportif qui se mettait en place dans le 16ème arrondissement avec le Parc des Princes, le Stade Jean Bouin et Roland Garros. Et pour ancrer les piscines Molitor dans un contexte sportif, c'est Johnny Weissmuller, quintuple médaillé Olympique, qui sera appelé pour l'inauguration et qui officiera en tant que maître-nageur durant l'été 1929.

    Mais la piscine Molitor s'affranchit rapidement de sa destination première pour devenir un lieu de rencontres et d'évènements : le gala des artistes en 1932, dès 1934 “ La Fête de l'Eau ” élit la plus jolie baigneuse chaque été ; sans compter sur les restaurants, bar-tabac et salon de coiffure qui entourent cette piscine d'un autre genre.

    Le bassin d'hiver est la reproduction fidèle du bassin originel dessiné par Lucien Pollet, l'architecte de Molitor. Il avait son bureau juste à droite de l'entrée d'origine du bassin d'hiver, aujourd'hui entrée de la Villa Molitor.
    Dans les cabines bleues les baigneurs se changeaient et laissaient leurs effets personnels. Leurs initiales étaient écrites à la craie par le garçon de cabine.

  • “ C'est certainement la période de ma vie que j'ai préférée. L'ambiance était formidable, on travaillait de 7 heures du matin à 7 heures du soir, l'entente était parfaite dans notre équipe (...). Il y avait beaucoup d'habitués qui venaient dès le matin pour réserver leurs cabines (toujours la même). Notre outil de travail, c'était la clef pour ouvrir les cabines ; la mienne, celle de Molitor, je l'ai gardée en souvenir. Nous avions tellement l'habitude que quand on tapait sur la porte, “ tac-tac ”, on reconnaissait par le son s'il y avait des vêtements à l'intérieur ou si la cabine était libre. ”
    Souvenirs de Dominique Thomas, garçon de cabines à Molitor, extrait du livre MOLITOR Les piscines et la patinoire de Claude Weill.

    Le déclin de la piscine Molitor commence dès 1970 avec la fermeture définitive de la patinoire qui remplaçait le bassin extérieur en hiver. Cette activité proposée aux parisiens nécessitait 1 mois et demi de travaux pour sa mise en place, sur cinq mois à peine d'exploitation. Les pertes financières étaient considérables.

    Puis, ce fut le système de filtration des eaux qui ne fonctionnait plus correctement, les bétons endommagés par les émanations de chlore depuis 1929 et la verrière du bassin d'hiver à refaire... Le rapport de l'architecte Jean-Paul Philippon dresse un constat déplorable. Les travaux nécessaires à la restauration de la piscine nécessitent le prolongement du bail et la renégociation de droit d'exploitation par la Direction de la piscine Molitor. La Mairie de Paris refusera de donner suite. C'est en 1989, à la date officielle d'expiration du bail, que la Direction remet les clefs de la piscine Molitor à la Mairie qui fermera les portes de l'établissement pour une durée indéterminée

  • 2nd Chapitre : 1989-2014

    Certes la piscine Molitor a fermé ses portes mais elles vont se rouvrir, à leur insu, car un bâtiment abandonné à Paris ne l'est jamais totalement.

    Les graffitis apparaissent dans un premier temps sur les murs extérieurs de Molitor puis sur les rambardes, les bassins vidés de leur eau et après une dizaine d'années ce sont de nouvelles couleurs qui redonnent vie au bâtiment délabré. Ce sont les premiers tags de certains street artists reconnus aujourd'hui du grand public et pour tous un immense atelier à ciel ouvert. De nombreux photographes figent à jamais les travaux éphémères de Reso, Shaka, Katre, Kashink, Jace, Kouka, Nosbé et la liste serait bien trop longue pour tous les énumérer...

    Le lieu devient également une scène pour des spectacles, soirées, défilés de mode organisés avec le concours de la Compagnie des Maîtres-Nageurs.

  • Mais la Mairie de Paris n'a pas totalement oublié Molitor. En 2007 elle lance un appel à candidatures pour la rénovation et l'exploitation du bâtiment abandonné. C'est la société Colony Capital en association avec Bouygues Construction et Accorhotels, qui remportera l'appel d'offres pour la réhabilitation de Molitor avec un projet fidèle à l'architecture du bâtiment et au respect de son histoire.

    Les travaux débutent en 2011, l'ensemble de la piscine est détruite car la structure et les bétons n'étaient plus assez résistants pour durer plus longtemps. Seule la rotonde, l'entrée du 2 Avenue de la Porte de Molitor, a pu être épargnée.

    La reproduction des piscines de Molitor se voudra fidèle, de nombreux nageurs de l'époque reconnaissent les formes des balustrades, les mosaïques et les couleurs. La fille de Lucien Pollet, architecte d'origine, qui avait vécue à Molitor, fut émue de constater que pratiquement rien n'avait changé du bassin d'hiver qu'elle avait connu, soulignant ainsi la qualité du travail des architectes, historiens et artisans du projet.

  • 3èmeChapitre : 2014 à aujourd'hui

    Molitor rouvre ses portes le 19 mai 2014.

    La Mairie de Paris concède l'exploitation du bâtiment par le groupe AccorHotels et la société Colony Capital pour une durée de 54 ans.

    Molitor n'est plus seulement qu'une piscine.

    C'est un hôtel de 124 chambres et suites pensées par l'architecte Jean-Philippe Nuel, à l'origine également de la redécoration de l'Hôtel Dieu à Marseille, de l'hôtel Mélia à La Défense et des Cures Marines à Trouville. Toutes les chambres entourent le bassin d'été avec l'impression d'être à Molitor comme sur un paquebot.

    C'est aussi un restaurant ouvert à tous qui propose des plats de saison à base de produits frais, toujours faits maison par le Chef Jean-Baptiste Dutac et sa brigade. Les créations pâtissières de Florian Eude sont un plaisir pour les yeux et pour le palais.

  • On y trouve également un Spa by Clarins de 1 700 m² disposant, en plus de ses cabines de soins où les praticiennes vous emmènent “ Au-delà de l'Eau ” avec un Soin Signature, un hammam, un sauna, une tisanerie et une salle de lecture. Le Club de Molitor qui propose en plus de ses installations sportives des cours collectifs et des animations culturelles toute l'année.

    Enfin, chaque visiteur pourra retrouver l'univers Street Art qui fait partie intégrante de l'histoire de Molitor à travers les œuvres des cabines de curiosités, celles qui s'exposent sur les murs du lobby de l'hôtel et celles plus cachées, au détour d'un couloir. Les artistes ayant connu Molitor durant sa période d'abandon sont invités à revenir poser leur empreinte sur le nouveau bâtiment pour faire écho aux graffitis qui recouvraient les murs à cette époque.

    Entrez dans une cabine du bassin d'hiver et plongez dans l'univers d'Hopare, Katre, Jace, Artiste Ouvrier, Mademoiselle Maurice, Kouka, Bradley Theodore, Mosko & Associés, Balder, Indie 184, Fred Calmets, Shuck One et bien d'autres.

    L'histoire de Molitor continue de s'écrire chaque jour...

Réservation