Art

Villa Molitor

  • With the Villa Molitor art now has its own special meeting place. The Villa Molitor is located in the legendary Rotonde at 2 Avenue de la Porte Molitor, inviting you to explore this partially listed building. It is both a studio for creation and a space for exhibition; all forms of artistic encounters are possible in this exceptional setting.

    The Villa Molitor has a surface area of 200m² spread out over two floors with views overlooking the winter pool and its impressive glass roof, its mission is to receive artists from all over the world, inviting them to come and create or exhibit in-situ works, canvasses, video art or special projects.

    Its ambition is to support creativity but also to provide a space for a genuine exchange between artists and the public. For this, Villa Molitor proposes less formal events such as book signings, round-table meetings or private visits.

  • “Over its 88 years of existence, Molitor has known many different periods, trends and lives that have made it what it is today. Amongst these lives we have chosen to celebrate the freedom and creative force of the artists who have been here, inviting them to join together and exchange once more with their public in a Villa which resembles no other...”

    Thomas Greggory, Managing Director of Molitor.

    “This is neither a swimming pool, nor an art gallery, not even a museum. Here it is all about bringing the past back to life, drawing on the artistic DNA of this unique and slightly crazy place; and at the same time encourage the exploration of new modes of artistic expression. Now, more than ever, the public really wants to be around the artists and see works as they progress, and how they are developed and prepared”

    Magda Danysz, gallery manager, exhibition curator and artistic director of Villa Molitor.

  • Useful informations

    Villa Molitor : 2 avenue de la Porte Molitor 75016 Paris

    Visit by appointment

    For any query : villamolitor@mltr.fr

Réservation

Art

Illustration d'arrière plan
Illustration d'arrière plan
Illustration d'arrière plan
Illustration d'arrière plan

Villa Molitor

  • Le projet de la Villa Molitor a fermé ses portes fin 2018. Pendant plus d’un an, installée dans la mythique rotonde du 2 avenue de la Porte Molitor, la Villa Molitor invitait à déambuler dans un espace en partie classé. A la fois lieu de création et d'exposition, toutes les rencontres artistiques y étaient possibles, dans un cadre d'exception.

    Sur 200 m² et deux niveaux, avec une vue plongeante sur le bassin d'hiver et son impressionnante verrière, la Villa Molitor avait pour mission d'accueillir en permanence des artistes venus du monde entier, invités à créer et exposer des œuvres in situ, des toiles accrochées, de l'art vidéo, des projets spéciaux...

    La Villa a accueilli, YZ, le collectif du 9ème Concept et Felipe Pantone notamment pour des expositions exceptionnelles.

  • En plus du soutien apporté à la création, l'ambition du lieu était de permettre l'échange entre les artistes et le public. Ainsi, la Villa Molitor proposa des rendez-vous plus informels tels que des dédicaces littéraires, des tables rondes, des visites privatisées...

    “ Molitor a connu plusieurs époques, plusieurs courants, plusieurs vies qui ont forgé le lieu d'aujourd'hui. Parmi ces vies, nous avons souhaité célébrer celle de la liberté et de la force créative des artistes, en leur permettant de se retrouver et d'échanger à nouveau avec le public dans une Villa qui ne ressemble à aucune autre...”

    “Ceci n'est ni une piscine, ni une galerie, ni même un musée. Ici, il s'agit à la fois de faire revivre le passé, l'ADN artistique de ce lieu inédit et un peu fou, mais aussi d'interroger les nouveaux modes d'exposition de l'art. Car plus que jamais, le public souhaite partager le work in progress, le travail en amont, avec les artistes.”

    Magda Danysz, galeriste, commissaire d'exposition et directrice artistique de la Villa Molitor.

  • Illustration d'artiste exercant leur art
  • Illustration d'artiste exercant leur art

Réservation